Hedgerow

I found a new walk with Archie this morning which was lovely. A new hedgerow for him to get into and cover himself in burrs again!
The rest of the morning was spent doing French homework. Despite my best intentions it generally gets done on the morning before the lesson. Often minutes before the lesson!!
The lesson was great - lots of chatting and finally the penny dropping a bit about remembering the different tenses. Annoyingly next week is our last lesson until Autumn and I'll probably forget everything over the summer and have to start again from scratch!!
My mum picked up Miss E from tennis while I was at swimming with Miss L then she looked after them while Mr K and I headed back to Miss L's school for the Welcome to Year 3 presentation. 
There were typos on the slides which irritated me. They're supposed to be teaching Miss L the difference between to and too and yet they get it wrong on a six foot screen in a room full of parents........ 
Anyway!
One of the worst days of last year was Miss E's last day at her school. It was her birthday and the school did nothing to mark the fact it was her last day. No card, no little party. Having not done anything at all to address the problems she was having and how unhappy she was. No-one noticed - or cared - that a seven year old girl was sat by herself in the library every break time. And no-one spoke to me to address the fact that she was leaving; to ask if there was anything they could do to help, to get her to stay.
A pretty poor show really!
But when Miss L said she wanted to stay rather than move along with Miss E I was OK with it because she has a lovely class and the teacher for Year 2 was lovely and knew Miss L well having had her for many Year 1 lessons.
And Year 2 has been fantastic for Miss L. She's happy and has done well. 
In April she suddenly asked if she could move schools and join Miss E. We were surprised but happy for her to move. My two school runs are pretty easy but obviously it would be more convenient in many respects to have them at the same place.
And at the Welcome to Year 3 meeting at the new school last week - drinking my prosecco on the lawn chatting to all the new teachers and my friends - I was struck by how much I wanted her to make the move. 
And they know the difference between to and too!
After the presentation tonight I thought it would be courteous to have a chat to the headmistress and let her know where we are in our deliberations.
It didn't start well when I said that I suspected we were going to maintain the status quo and she cocked her head enquiringly and asked "which is........?"
Well it's the status quo you daft woman. 
She's obviously not as fluent in Latin as me!!!
I was explaining that Miss L was going to do the transition day next week and that I thought she'd would like her new teacher who's new to the school.
As I was talking - literally mid-sentence - the headmistress caught sight of another couple approaching, presumably new parents, and turned away from me to greet them and shake their hands.
I was mid-sentence!!!!! Talking about whether or not my child is staying in her school. WTF??????!!!!!
I wave my arms around a lot when I talk and I still had both my arms outstretched when she turned her back on me. I felt like a total lemon!
It was unbelievable!!
Time to leave I thought.
And not just the meeting!!!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.