Car Park

The day before we went to France Mr K did his usual pre-holiday shop. He went to Debenhams and got jeans and shoes.
On his way to the till he grabbed a packet of pants because why put them in the wash when you can just buy new ones? He thought the total for jeans, shoes and pants* was a bit high but being a man shopping in a hurry he didn't think to question it or check the receipt.
When he got home he discovered that his pants - a pack of three - had actually cost £40.
Obviously Tommy Hilfiger makes the best pants in the world!
Ha ha ha ha ha!!!!!!!!!!
So they've been sat on the side ever since to be returned.
Chatting to Mrs E at rock climbing last night about taking things back I realised that it must be getting very close to twenty eight days since he bought them.
I checked the receipt this morning and discovered today was the last day to return them so it was off to Milton Keynes with me.
While I was at it I dug out a pair of jeans I was going to throw away because the belt loops have ripped and made big holes and also they've split over the bum. 
Now obviously I'm no Kate Moss but I don't expect jeans which are perfectly big enough to cover my arse to rip in three places after just three months.
With the £40 from Mr K's pants I bought myself some cropped jeans (for it ever warms up again!) and I was very pleased to be able to replace the ripped ones with new ones.  I'd been expecting a bit of a row with the cashier but he didn't quibble and hardly looked at the ripped ones. Yay!!
I had a funny experience getting out of the car park. The machine took my £2 coin but was still telling me to pay so I pushed the help button. Seconds later a voice boomed out behind me "NEVER FEAR!!!! I'M HERE!!!!"
I jumped out of my skin! And may have blasphemed loudly!!
While I was still clutching my chest and trying to recover the machine started talking loudly to me too asking what it could do to help.
The creep-up-behind-people-and-terrify-them man told the machine it was alright because George was here.
George** proceeded to open the machine and pick up the dozens of coins which spilled out.
He put my ticket back in and I tried to pay again. No joy.
He tried with two pound coins rather than a two pound coin but still no luck.
A few more goes and he gave up. He said "oh just go to the barrier and tell them George said it was OK"
Hilariously the machine then called out "There's no-one called George working here!!!"
I told the machine I'd be there in a minute.
When I got to the exit I pushed the button, told the barrier that George said he'd let me out and waited with baited breath.
The barrier opened and I was on my way. Woohoo!!!
Two pounds off at Fat Club and a healthy dinner. Feeling determined!!

*they were actually boxer shorts but pants sounds funnier and I've been enjoying teasing Mr K about his expensive fancy pants!!

** George is not his real name. I don't want him to get into trouble for a) creeping up behind lone women in car parks and scaring the life out of them and b) letting them off the £2 parking fee!!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.