Saturated

A day of celebration as Ben finally sat his last A level - free now for the summer. It's been a very long drag - extending over six weeks - and we were all feeling heartily sick of the whole process. Whatever the results, it's a real achievement that he's been able to overcome his anxiety and low mood to get this far. 

While he was working I went for a walk in Morkery Wood, which was still saturated after two days of rain. It also felt remarkably chilly! Although I hadn't intended to do any plant recording I spotted a few interesting species, including two colonies of Fragrant Agrimony, which was first recorded in South Lincolnshire in 2016, though it may well have been overlooked for many years. I found this moisture-laden head of Wood Small-reed in a shady side-ride - it seemed an appropriate image for such a dark and damp day.

When we arrived home I felt quite tired, but had to summon up the energy for a walk round Castor Hanglands, to prepare for a walk That Pete and I are leading on Saturday. The skies remained largely grey, but there were a few butterflies and day-flying moths about, including this rather striking Six-spot Burnet (see extra). 

Fortunately we'd all agreed to celebrate the end of the exam season with a Thai take away, so I didn't need to cook in the evening, which was just as well! I was shattered...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.