Six-Spot Burnet Moth

The PC was fixed by my husband and the virus erradicated - hurrah :)

Decided on another short outing as the weather was a bit better than expected, so hubby and I drove to Southport and RSPB Marshside.
The last couple of times we were here - last year - there were loads of birds around - avocets in May and Godwits in October, but we were not sure of what was in store for us in July.
Another disappointing day with nothing more than coots, Canada Geese, Black headed gulls and a few lapwings. And most of these were out of range of the lens I had with me.  The only bird that was fairly close was some sort of a warbler. It was very well hidden within the reeds and only popped out for a second or two at a time and of course I was far too slow to capture a decent shot...
I think that this colourful moth is the Six-spot burnet moth and was happily munching away on this dandelion on the coastal road.
We then went for a late lunch at The Happy Monk and were home in time to see the end of stage 2 of the Tour de France.
As I am not traveling again for another three weeks, I am looking forward to being able to watch a lot of the Tour, and of course Wimbledon starts tomorrow as well! Working from home definitely has its advantages at times. :)

So now I am going to indulge myself and see what you have all been up to today with your blips. Here I come.....

Oh, and please take a look at my Song Thrush from yesterday which I was not able to post until today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.