CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Woodpeckers reading at Daneway Banks

We went to have a picnic today at Daneway Banks not far from the source  of the river Frome near to Sapperton. The sun was shining most of the time and we knew it would be a very peaceful place to sit and relax, which is what Helena wanted most of all. 

I was happy as I could spend time following butterflies for which this wildlife reserve is so well known. Many people come from far and wide to try to view the very rare Large Blue Butterfly as this is one of the few spots in the country where it breeds. 

I did have a look for it in the places where I had seen some of them last year, but had no luck today. But the wonderful landscape which is rich in wild herbs and flowers has an abundance of other insects and butterflies in particular.  

Helena managed to finish her book just when I was ready to escape from the heat  so we drove home in time to get some chives for the potato salad she was intending to make for supper. It was delicious.

I have blipped Helena on a blanket on the side of the hill overlooking the Daneway pub, situated beside the old abandoned Thames and Severn canal. You can just see the roof of the pub at the bottom right of the picture. Formerly the canal entered a tunnel a few hundred yards away, under the hill on which Sapperton village sits, which took it to drop down to the town of Lechlade where it joined the River Thames.

Soon after we got home Helena showed me a photo from the online version of one of the local papers, where a man saw a Monarch butterfly  at Daneway Banks last Monday. They are very rare mostly being found in North America and particularly Mexico. I musty admit I didn't see one today, but it is another reason to return there soon.

I've added a Flickr Gallery below where I have put some of the various butterflies I saw today. I even managed to catch some of them in flight which was pleasing.

Flickr gallery showing some Butterflies at Daneway Banks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.