The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Whirring Wings Above Me

I took this while I was relaxing on the deck. I had put out peanuts for the jays and they were giving me a show. Then I heard the unmistakable sound of a hummingbird that came to the fuchsia and then darted away. I aimed my camera at the flowers and waited. I was lucky. She came back and I was able to get a couple of shots that showed her lovely feathers and the beauty of the bright flowers.

I started the day with a visit from a fellow I've just recently met. He is a local lawyer and an art collector. He came once before at the suggestion of Fran, the gal who may end up doing an estate sale with all the things I want to find homes for. She thought Phil would like a couple of the art pieces in my house. So he came and looked and then went away to think some more and do some research.

This morning Phil returned and we talked. A few of the pieces he was interested in happened to be worth quite a bit, more than he wanted to afford. That was good news to me as I wasn't really interested in selling those particular works. The one I did want to sell he bought. Before that however we had a good friendly conversation about all manner of things. It was very enjoyable.

Then I took off to mail the three boxes of pens I packed up yesterday and to do a bit of grocery shopping. It was after I got home that I sat for a nice quiet time on the deck, enjoying the sun and photographing the birds.

Around 5:15 I headed downtown to meet some of my friends, and Helena, at the Pickford Theater to see "Hero" together. Turns out the subject was a bit close to home for Helena and me but we both really liked the movie and weren't bothered by its content. Good acting and a moving subject. 

After the movie the six of us went to the Temple Bar for dinner. I hadn't been there before because of a mistaken assumption that it was a bar with the usual bar food. Not at all. There were drinks to be had if you wanted. I didn't. But the food was nothing like regular bar food. I had lamb meatballs and polenta and Helena had a polenta dish with asparagus and mushrooms. Everybody's dinner looked delicious. We all headed back home around 10 o'clock after a happy time eating, talking and laughing. It was a good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.