Tiny Tuesday: Moth

Today's Tiny Tuesday challenge from (quite) new blipper Holliegirl is to blip something small which is usually much larger. (Welcome to blip Holliegirl, and thanks so much for hosting Tiny Tuesday so early in your blip career!).

This moth's wingspan is only about 3cm from tip to tip. But as my career was in eye care I'm particular interested in its eyes, which are only about 1mm in diameter. Human eyes are usually about 25mm in diameter so I reckon the eyes here fit today's TT challenge!

It settled on the outside of our kitchen window late yesterday evening, "asking" to be photographed. It was just behind the sink so setting up the tripod for a macro focus stack was a little tricky - the tripod had to be at its lowest setting, with 2 feet on the window sill and one in the sink. Things were not helped by the fact that the window glass is not perfectly smooth  and therefore not ideal for photographing through as it's probably as old as the house (>100 years) but the photo came out better than I expected. By the time I'd set everything up, it was well past midnight so I reckon that's OK to blip today - after all, the EXIF data shows today's date.

I illuminated it with an LED torch. The specks of dust on the window look like stars in the sky so I left them on.

View large if you've time - it's worth it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.