The Lady and the Tiger

When I was at the shore last week, I only bought one significant memento: a Chinese glass snuffle bottle, hand painted from the inside (by very tiny people with itty-bitty brushes, apparently). It has a different tiger image on each side.

I was in one of my very favorite shops on the Atlantic City boardwalk (the kind that sells crystal chandeliers and mermaid tables; you know, USEFUL stuff), and the gentleman whose store it was promised he'd "make me an offer I couldn't refuse." And then he offered me this bottle for first 25, then 20 bucks. Of course, I said yes!

So in essence, what I brought back from the beach was a bottle full of tigers! The Dancing Girls sat quietly, and the tiger, though it sniffed her pretty little pink ankles, never intimidated or harmed her. It kept its teeth and claws to itself. So in fact, you might say that 'twas beauty that tamed the beast . . . . while all of her little friends looked on.

Glass Tiger is one of my favorite 80s bands. When I see this bottle, I will always be reminded of the beach and that wonderful store, full of all kinds of magic things. Here is Glass Tiger, with I Will Be There.

P.S. I've had to post more than one blip today to start catching up after my beach trip/vacation last week. So please check out the additional posting that follows this one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.