Independence Day

I still get a thrill when I see the American flag.  I am  grateful to be an American and for the advantages I have had and the freedoms I enjoy. I consider myself a patriot to the extent that I believe in the things this country stands for.....We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. 

Being a patriot does not mean that I can support the man who is currently in power. I have no more respect for him than he has for the principles of the Founding Fathers. 

Now we're going to go and eat barbecued chicken and potato salad and watch fireworks. There is something comforting about harking back for a few hours to simpler times, enjoying the company of family and friends and being grateful....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.