Independence Day

I debated for awhile about even publishing the traditional American Flag picture today. You are all such lovely people that It feels like I am preaching to the choir. Thank all of you so much for your kind comments on my entry about strong women facing adversity. I am really touched by your wonderful comments, stars and hearts.

The fake patriotism that is flourishing today makes me angry and I didn't want to rant. But it looks like rant I must...sorry. 

While I believe in democracy and the principles of the Founding Fathers, and am grateful for the advantages I have been given, I am sickened and angry that these same advantages are being denied others in a most blatant and undemocratic manner, and that it is being done in my name.

Although I think even the founders meant for the Fourth of July to be a day of 'games, guns and fireworks'*, I'm finding it a bit difficult to get too worked up about the first, and I think that (for different reasons) the other two should banned. 

Smoke is drifting over the mountains from Napa County and turning the atmosphere into an eerie orange color. 'Safe and sane' fireworks are banned in most parts of the county but there are still one or two cities that can still sell them. I think the whole idea is neither safe, nor sane. In fact it seems downright mad....

As for guns...don't get me started. This isn't 1776 and even Alexander Hamilton was killed by one in a duel...will we never learn?

I keep trying to figure out what the word 'patriotic' even means to me any more. If it means supporting the racist, exclusionist, debased politics of the current government, I would have to say that I am not. In fact, I would have to say that I am embarrassed and ashamed to be an American. 

*Paraphrasing John Adams

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.