Stones and Water

I fear that for the time being, our country's flag has been so defiled by the man who is not my president that I couldn't use the image on this Independence Day. In fact, I have been thinking a lot about the meaning of patriotism, and whether I even consider myself a patriot. The answer, of course, is that presidents come and go, and the things we value most...the right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness in a democratic society are under fire right now.  I hope, for the sake of my grandchildren that they are things that should unite us, not divide us, and that somehow we can recognize that we may have differences, but if we can just eliminate all the hateful rhetoric, we all believe in the same things....

Somebody sent me this video today and I believe it has made me realize what patriotism is really about. It is not about the politicians, but about all the people we have and must continue to welcome here, about the beauty we must continue to nurture and protect and about the community we must do everything in our power to preserve for our children and theirs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.