Downward Facing Squirrel Pose

By the time I got home from class and coffee at Flying Goat with my friend Nancy, the three palm trees in front of our house were gone without a trace, as were Jerry and his crew. All that was left behind were three aluminum foil caps with rocks on top to keep animals away from the poison they poured on the stumps.

Our resident squirrel has become pretty fearless. I have found tiny footprints all over the couch on our porch, but today I caught him in the act doing his yoga  scratching fleas with great attention.

I had another 'ocular migraine'...and while I was lying on the couch listening to the Tour de France my neighbor called because her cat was sick and she needed 1) a recommendation for a vet and 2) a cat carrier. Dana had the latter and the neighbor came and got it. Her cat had never been to the vet and it sounds like it was pretty traumatic for all concerned. The cat got valium. My neighbor probably just got a real migraine.

Pedro, our gardener, sent one of his guys and his father to deliver a load of dirt and to take out a small palm tree and some bamboo outside our bedroom door so that OilMan can get to the irrigation hose. The wet winter and warm spring have caused a veritable jungle to grow up around the house and we are madly trying to clear things out.

The only thing left standing in the front of the house is the blooming agave stalk. Enrique told us that in Mexico they eat the fruits from the stalk. They should be picked now before the pollen comes out and either fried or roasted. I'm not too up on how to preserve agave fruits, but perhaps Pedro's father, who has a charming, snaggletoothed grin and speaks very little English has a better idea. He just gave me a thumbs up and said, 'tequila'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.