Just to get us going

Just as I finished posting the announcement for the latest 'cultural blip' challenge, I heard the rumblings of the trash collecting trucks. I'd forgotten the whole process had been delayed because of the 4th celebrations :)

So I ran out and got the guys (Duane and Deshawn) to stop for a minute and pose for me, explaining what the challenge will be about. Deshawn (on the left) was game right away: "hey man! we're gonna be famous worldwide! Should we get paid for that?" It took Duane a few seconds to loosen up a bit but then he broke into a nice grin. Even though the framing of that shot sucks, I like the facial expressions on both of them. 

They are both locals and have been at this for a few years. They told me they'd watched our house being built and they think it's the most beautiful house in the neighborhood (yeah!). When I went to shake their hands, they both very kindly took off their gloves. I promised them a print on their next go around, then they were off: "we're on the clock! have a great day!" :)

I won't enter that picture into the challenge (conflict of interest?) but thought it might be nice to kick off the process a couple of days ahead of deadline. Hope you'll join in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.