In case you arrive on horseback...

Dear Diary,

I bought this little farmhouse 22 years ago today.  It had a granite post in front that use to have an iron ring on top to tie your horse to.  The hole is still there but the ring, long gone.  I said then that someday I would replace it.  This week I finally did!  (No need to hurry into these things!)


I had bought the cast iron horse head with ring many years ago but it sat on a shelf in the barn gathering dust.  This week Greg came over with his stone drill and mounted it on the post.  I think it looks great so if you visit on horseback now you will have a place to hitch it up!


I loved horses as a girl.  I've added a photo of me on horseback, around age 8 I think, at my home.  I also found a little booklet belonging to my great grandmother which I put in the scrapbook the other day entitled "amusements and exercises for a girl".   It is dated 1866 and she wrote her name on the first page. The last page had a diagram showing the proper way to sit side saddle on a horse.  I did try riding side saddle once...I immediately slid off!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.