Missycat

By Missycat

FlowerFriday7 Purple Loosestrife

Today was my usual Friday routine, when Violet spends the day with me, although Mr MC was able to break with his usual work routine and spend the day at Lords.  The weather has continued hot and rather humid and when it came to time to set out for Tumble Tots violet made it quite clear that she wasn't up for that today.  I don't blame her: besides the heat she has a nasty cough again.  The joys of attending nursery 4 days a week!
We had a lazy day but in the afternoon I insisted that we get out a walk at least.  The Son was able to accompany me, so we went for a stroll around Connaught Water.  Well. The Son and I strolled: Violet fell asleep as soon as I started to drive and didn't wake up until we had completed a circuit of the lake! She did manage an ice cream at that point though, as  did we two grown ups!
As Violet slept I was able to take quite a few shots on our walk.  We spotted a heron and (I think) an egret! as well as the usual swans, Canada geese and ducks.  Butterflies were scarce but bees were everywhere. My blip  choice  features Purple Loosestrife, very popular with the bees and just coming into flower.  When I've edited the shots I'll put up the others in my Facebook album.
When we returned home a t teatime, we sat out in the now slightly cooler garden.  Violet was not in a paddling pool mood but was delighted when I got out her pop up tent and two play tunnels.  My extra shot shows her enjoying a treat in the little tent.

My busy day meant that I didn't get to watch any Wimbledon until the evening.  I caught up with the Johanna Konta match (Yay!) and managed to watch Andy Murray live as that match was played late.  some fabulous tennis and in the end the desired result!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.