Real fern weather!

A miserable day today, raining from the word Go, though the wind died down pretty soon. I'm glad I didn't book on the MV Balmoral for the trip to Colonsay today - it would have been pretty miserable, I think. 

Instead of a ship deck Blip I had a look around the multitude of pots out on the garden deck, all waiting for a garden to be planted in. This fern caught my eye and became today's Blip. It's Dryopteris erythrosora, a native of the Far East and known variously as the Autumn Fern, Japanese shield fern or copper shield fern. Easy to grow, hardy and attractive, this fern is partially evergreen and new fronds in the spring are a lovely coppery colour. There's a form called 'Brilliance', which is, um, sort of even more brilliant, with deeper coloured new foliage.

If you have room for only one fern, then this is maybe the one. Or maybe hundreds of other ferns are also the one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.