WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Satie

I don't think I've ever blipped earlier than this ... around half past midnight, so it counts for today's blip! After getting back from l'Art Caché, I had dinner and then hesitated -- but in the end I was wide awake, so I went to Lagrasse for the midnight concert of the piano festival, En Blanc et Noir. I'd already been last year -- such a great idea, about 19 concerts over six days, and completely free since the piano is installed in the street

I got there just after midnight to find about 60 people spellbound by Ivan Ilic playing Satie and Cage. You could have heard a pin drop in the silences between the very short pieces.  There's something magical about sitting in a medieval square in southern France on a balmy night of full moon, bats darting around the eaves, letting the music flow through your soul. Have a listen ... Remind me again why I live here??

Twelve hours later, lunchtime rendezvous at the bar associatif for lunch of chicken, salad, and chips. ::cough:: When S returned from his mountain adventures at about 6:45, we were still there, still drinking rosé ... six of us had demolished seven bottles, embarrassingly lined up under the table. I was the only one wise enough to drink a glass of water after each glass of rosé. S swiftly bought another bottle and some tapas. It's going to be a long summer ... remind me again why I live here??

Edit: and now I'm sitting here with the windows open and someone's strumming a guitar in the square outside. It doesn't get better than this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.