Busy Sunday

Woken at 8.30 with a cup of tea. My alarm had gone off at 8 but I had decided I needed more sleep. Jon and Henry had archery. Henry with his kit all packed into his new archery rucksack, something he bought yesterday with his birthday money.

I got up slowly, and after filling the washing machine, proceeded with 2 hours of ironing to The Archers and Desert Island discs. That was the morning, but with lots still to do, my next job was the bathroom. It took me an hour, it was very dirty. A late lunch in the garden, and then some gardening. I planted 4 chilli plants and 3 toms into my greenhouse. They weren't doing well in pots.

At 3 it seemed to cool down a bit, so we loaded the trailer, which Jon had brought home this weekend from Cambridge with a load of fence posts and chicken wire. There, Jon put all the posts in, and took the wire round as far as it would go. I changed my runner bean sticks for longer ones, although the beans aren't doing very well. I also put in more mange tout next to the others. We need to do more digging, but I really need the chickens up there, that way they can scratch over the weeds for me. The parish council have to decide if we can.

I left Jon to fence, while I walked back home to get my car to collect Moll from work. Then I cycled back down when I got back as Jon had got as far as his wire would stretch. Before we left, we rigged up the feature in the middle that looks like a slide. Hopefully it will catch any rain if we are lucky enough to get any.

Back home at 6 and Jon did the dinner while I manhandled the eglu from behind my summerhouse onto the lawn, to give it a clean. There is loads of redmite in their house, so the recycled rabbit hutch Manda gave me, may be at the end of its life. I've tried to get into it to clean, but get covered in mite and then itch all evening. Couldn't catch the chickens either, so need to cover them in mite powder asap.

Cleaned the eglu and am now shattered! I've had a nice relaxing bath, but still haven't managed to do my sewing. But allotment again tomorrow so probably be wednesday now.

As usual, looking forward to an early night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.