Collecting

Henry has the collector gene, like me. Today he has been wandering about saying he has nothing to do, and that the weekend is going too slowly. He goes to Paris on Monday with his maths class and can't wait! I pointed out to him, that me and dad are quite happy with the speed it is going, and thanked him not to wish it away! So he got out one of his collections - 50p, £1 and £2 coins, reordered them in his folder, and made a note of the ones he is missing. Quite a few of the older £2 coins, as some were a low mintage, plus the new £2s (shakespeare, ww1, Mary rose & king James bible, to name a few!) and we have especially been keeping our eyes peeled for the new Beatrix potter 50ps. We know they are in general circulation, we just haven't had any in our change. So if you get one, can you hold on to it for me? I'll give you £1 for it!!! (that's the crazy sort of thing collectors do!)

We have had a lazy, but filled day, if that isn't an oxymoron. I cleaned out the chicks. Only took one trip out to Cromer to drop Mollie off for work at 1pm. She doesn't finish until 11.30pm. Then back via Homebase where we bought a water butt for the side of the conservatory.

I've been sewing apart from that. After deliberating long and hard about the dress I made, I decided that it really does look like a nightie, and while I think that, I won't wear it. So I made a decision and chopped it down to long t shirt length, added some buttons for effect, and am much happier. In fact I'm wearing it now, and it definitely works. Although it is still see-through!

Fresh from with my home made alteration challenge, I set to on another one. This time converting a pair of floaty, giant, to the ground culottes, into a skirt. It is challenging and I'm still doing it. The legs are lined, so I've had loads of seams to unpick, but I plan to use the lining to make the skirt lined too. I love the fabric, so want it to work. Its dark here in my conservatory now, so I may have to finish tomorrow. All good fun.

Tomorrow I have a friend from Cambridge visiting. I hope the sun shines for her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.