The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Keep Calm and Train On

EVEN IN A CITY THAT NEVER SLEEPS, THERE ARE ALWAYS A FEW INDIVIDUALS WHO REMAIN CALM EVEN IN A FRENZIED CROWD

I am in NYC most of this week for our firm's largest conference of the year. The days start at 7 and carry through until after-dinner festivities. Sleep and leisurely time are foreign concepts and if you get a comment from me this week, it likely will be the result of under the table blip espionage on my iPad. I did bring my camera however with the intent to use it and one of the meetings I had today was held at one of the restaurants overlooking the Grand Central's Main Concourse. It was my only legitimate "blipportunity" of the day but it lasted all of three minutes and it was shot from our meeting table, thus the view towards Vanderbilt Hall and the southeast corner.

I am posting this particular image because I need your help. I have offered to assist blipchum LeeAnne with sightseeing ideas for her upcoming trip to Gotham City to celebrate her birthday. Never in my years have I witnessed anyone with so much anticipation and excitement for a trip to NYC. (Just note her "sleeps" countdown!) But, this place is magical and can easily have that impact on people. I have spent a great deal of time here over the last thirty years and I still am giddy for it all. I love to see others share a passion for New York.

Here is where you can help. I am concerned that my familiarity with the city may have caused me to be a bit jaded on some of the tourist attractions. So, even though I should turn off my comments as I will be off line most of the week, I am leaving them on for today and asking you who have visited NYC to express your most favorite thing to see or do in the any of the five boroughs. Please have fun with your contributions.

Thanks for the glowing comments and other acts of kindness you gave to my lake blips this past weekend. You really are such special people and I hope to thank you personally as time permits. Also, when I view this image I want to try it again with a proper tripod and ample time and attention to capture a true time elapsed image and process it. This extended exposure image is far short of that though the movement comes through a bit better in large. Maybe I should vacation here and take the time to do this right ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.