Exhaustion

We had a very full flight last night. EVERY seat was taken which means NO break for us! Thankfully we had a short flight time and we landed early, just before 6am. I was very tired so I decided to go straight home before picking up Dolly. It's only a 30-40 minute drive home but I was struggling so much I had to get off the motorway early and find somewhere to pull over. I went to the one of the car parks at a supermarket and tipped my seat back and fell asleep. I can't remember ever having to do that in the 25 years I've been based in Heathrow and flying all night transatlantic trips.

I don't think I slept very long but I felt better once I woke up. I went into the store to use the 'facilities' and picked up a few things I needed since I was there. I decided to go ahead and pick up Dolly and finally got home quite a long time after we landed! When we got home I went STRAIGHT to bed and slept 3 hours.

When I woke up we were in the middle of another HOT day - a real-feel of 34C/93F. I hadn't checked the weather so I wasn't expecting that! I don't do well in heat so I got almost nothing done the rest of the day. I was still feeling exhausted too. Some days I bounce back quickly after a trip and other days it's a real struggle.

Finally it cooled down enough for walkies with Dolly. We went up to a nearby wood and had a relatively short walk. It was a beautiful evening by then and I enjoyed the fresh air finally - and this silhouette.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.