Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Dr. Kathy

Taking up the Blip Community Challenge of sharing Cultural Municipal Workers, I've chosen to highlight my friend, Kathy. She's not technically a Municipal  worker but the community depends on her presence. Kathy is the pharmacist at my local Walgreens. She doesn't simply fill prescriptions, she spends time chatting with you about your family.

More than once she's picked up a problem on one of my prescribed medications; drugs containing something in my allergy list or something contraindicated for one of my various diseases. Many folks turn to her for advice when they have a problem or their doctors seem stymied.  If I'm out and about, especially when it's a quiet time of year (without snowbirds), I'll drop by just to chat.

Kathy grew up in Kentucky and always has that state in her heart.  She has several UK (Univ of KY) decals on her truck.  Her kids (she has six) tease her about it because she didn't go to school there.  She received her various degrees from the University of Arizona.

Both universities have the same mascot, so she gave me this little rhyme to include with the blip:
"She got her doctorate at the U of A
but is a Wildcat  either way."

(She's a lot of things but not exactly Maya Angelou)   :-)

I could write an epistle about her.  I've met a few of her six kids.  All but the 13 year old have given her a slew of grand-kids, too. She plays the organ in her church.  Her dad was a pastor. She rides a motorcycle, drives a huge hummer and a truck. She lives on a horse ranch and mucks out the stalls in her "spare" time.  Her favorite critters are lizards (her customers occasionally give her lizard jewelry). She calls my mom, her mom. I've gone out with her socially.  She is by far the kindest, smartest, most caring person I know...and the people she serves love her.

I added an extra showing a bit of the damage (this is at Walgreen's) from the wicked monsoon storm last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.