Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Helicopter

Cold with a blustery, icy blast of wind today but not even nearly as bad as most of the rest of the country who are suffering from blizzard like conditions, gale force winds and 7-9 metre swells in Cook Strait that have caused the ferries to stop running. Definitely an inside day today and after getting the groceries, that is where I have stayed.

On the way home from the supermarket I noticed a lot of sycamore seeds being tossed around by the wind so I gathered a few up to bring home. They trigger a lot of memories - as a child I played with them,  then my own children followed suit and finally they made a great lesson each year for my classes of 5 year old New Entrants.  I wonder how many of you pretended they were helicopters as we all did?

For those who were concerned for my daughter and her attempts to get home in the storm, she finally made it to Napier at 9pm on the last flight to leave the capital.. Her original departure time from Wellington was 1.40 pm. That wasn't a fun trip. There were wind gusts at the level of a category 3 cyclone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.