Green Bottle - Red Admiral

Exciting day for me. I know my interest in bugs is distinctly minority but I got a real buzz when I checked my box bug eggs on the morning glory leaf and discovered that they had just hatched. (Extras) The nymph on the right in my first extra pic is a bit darker than the other two so hatched first. I know from my research that they are less than two hours old. I've included a grain of golden granulated sugar in my second extra pic for scale.

I'm also excited that I've sussed that the box bug eggs that I was monitoring previously took ages to hatch and turned black because they had been subject to a parasite. I believe tiny, black, winged bugs emerged from them.

I'd noticed a red admiral in the garden this morning so went searching for butterflies this evening. I captured the above on a thistle with a green bottle for company. I love the Persian carpet effect of its underwing.

Today's poem is A Hindu to His Body by AK Ramanujan. Sorry, I can't find a satisfactory link to this. 

The "burlap weave of weaver birds in my hair" brings to mind a wonderful sequence I saw on Twitter today. @HarrietRycroft posted a vid of a fledgling goldcrest in her hair. 
https://twitter.com/HarrietRycroft/status/885149628261216256

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.