Bowie songs recital

Bowie songs recital at A new venue at the elephant and Castle called Lost Rivers Elephant made out of packing crates, great space, lovely staff and excellent sound.
My friend Clifford Slapper in the centre is a brilliant pianist who has produced an acoustic album of Bowie songs called Bowie songs one just featuring grand piano and 10 different vocalists which I am one.
From left to right Katherine Ellis, Funmilayo, Clifford, Ian Shaw and Ray Burmiston.
I was really pleased to get a chance to speak to Ian afterwards because I want to see if he remembered something that happened 31 years ago, I was in Spain with my friend Peter French who is a pianist and my boyfriend at the time and we were in a bar Pete was playing and I was singing, I remember being wrapped up in the song and having my eyes close leaning on the piano and when I opened them Ian and a friend were there, and he was so complimentary and enthusiastic about me, it was really lovely, it was before I moved back to London and I was still living in Brighton. In did remember and then reminded me that he played piano for me in Dukes bar back in the day and I signed natural woman, isn't it funny how we meet each other and then meet each other again years and years later?
I also had a chance to get to know Funmilayo better in the green room, she is really lovely, she put a plait in my hair and helped me to nail the last few lyrics of a new song performed tonight, rock & roll suicide is one of those songs that is hard to learn because it's not clear what it really means and it's not really a story with a beginning a middle and an end, I'm always very nervous when I'm performing a song for the first time, Clifford and I had 20 minutes rehearsal which was mainly spent finding the right key so I didn't feel overly confident but it went well, then I sang natural woman (The only non-Bowie song of the night but a song featured in cracked actor where Bowie can be seen singing along with it in the back of a cab) I got the audience doing all the backing vocals. In the second half I performed space oddity and oh you pretty things.
The concert was a great success and the audience were very warm and appreciative towards us, it was fun signing autographs on the album afterwards as well.
Rachael and Kevin came down whuch was lovely and Rachael took this photo, thankyou!
Also great to see Derek Green again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.