lovelife209

By mindful_life

Happy birthday to me!

Today is my birthday! It is St Swithun's day and there is a prophecy that if it rains on St Swithun's day it will rain for 40 days and 40 nights. Since records began in 1861, there has been no record of 40 consecutively wet or dry days following 15 July. I can vouch for personally vouch for the fact that for the last few years at least it has rained on my birthday despite being the middle of summer!

It has been a quiet, restful day after a very busy week! My children (and husband) bought me my very own yoga mat and lovely carry bag and I can't wait to use it! I started practicing yoga a couple of months ago around the same time I started reading about mindfulness and now I absolutely love it. I love how it makes me feel connected to my body in ways I never knew possible.

This afternoon I relaxed reading a book while my children played in the garden and I started to feel very tired so I went to bed! I slept for about an hour and a half and felt so refreshed for the rest of the day! I have enjoyed a BBQ with my family and am now going to tuck into this vintage bottle of champagne which is 22 years old (just a bit younger than me, cough cough). I am not an expert at all but I enjoy wine and learning about it. My husband bought this for me and of course we will be sharing it!

Having a sleep today reminded me how important it is to listen to our bodies. We can all be guilty of burning the candle from both ends at times, especially in the modern world we have created. It sounds simple but we don't always take note of what we need. Today I listened and I'm sure I will benefit from it. When we are tired, we should sleep. When we are hungry, we should eat. We when are stressed we need to stop and breathe.

Don't abide by the rules that man have created and simply be guided by how you feel. Learn to trust your instincts and you will find comfort in your ability to know what you need and when you need it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.