lovelife209

By mindful_life

Sunday sea snail

Today my family and I all took a trip to garden centre to buy some plants for our new garden. First of all we had lunch which was lovely and then we pottered slowly around looking at all the wonderful varieties of trees, plants and flowers. My son spotted these sea snails which were in a tank with water lilies and we had to stop and watch them. He said they were cute (not quite how I would describe them) but they were interesting. They would glide upside down underneath the water surface but on the top - as though the water surface was their floor. There were also other small creatures that clung to their shells that looked a bit like woodlice but in the water.

I managed to peel him away from watching them eventually and found some beautiful purple Dahlias- they were all past their best so we didn't get them but they were stunning and maybe one for next year.

On the way home we were lucky enough to spot a stealth bomber flying above us accompanied by two fighter jets that must be attending the Royal Air Tattoo. Apparently when these aircrafts were being tested people thought they were UFOs and I can see why. They are like no aircraft I have seen before and back 30 years ago they would have been even more a spectacle.

We also saw a combine harvester working in a field and a steam car drive past so it was truly a day of discoveries!!

A simple drive through the countryside can open your eyes to all sorts of things you don't see from day to day. I am lucky to live very close to the countryside and must remind myself to pass through more often. It was a lovely day out x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.