Beautiful but...

...dangerous. This rose bush has old-fashioned flowers that are so delicate and beautiful when they flower.  Unfortunately it also grows quickly and wildly and the tough stems are full of big thorns. It is also in exactly the wrong place, on the corner of Betty's (Jan's studio) at the top of some steps, where we pass by every time we go anywhere in that part of the garden. I've lost count of the number of times I've been snagged by the thorns.
I've tried to destroy it once, cutting it right back and snipping every time it grew back. It merely exploded out of the earth further along the bed. As soon as I gave up it grew back.
So for now the rose bush lives on. I mean, you can't cut it back while it's flowering, and when that is over it grows an abundance of hips that feed the birds in the winter. 
Maybe I should build a new path instead and just leave the rose bush to grow around Betty's in the style of a Sleeping Beauty castle!
The extra shows the Red House Roof at the end of day 16. Really it's there as a record for me so don't feel you have to look!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.