Down by the river

Be on my side,
I'll be on your side,
Baby
There is no reason
For you to hide
It's so hard for me
Staying here all alone
When you could be
Taking me for a ride.

Angus is still out partying when Megan, Claire and I head into town. Megan's going to Portobello to do a lifesaving course next week. Claire's heading to Glasgow and Kyle of Localsh for more OYT sailing. And I'm heading to London to renew my US visa tomorrow.

It's a beautiful flight down and very warm in London. I drop my stuff off at the flat and then walk to Vauxhall. I pick up a falafel wrap on the way and eat it on the train to Richmond.

En route, Claire texts to tell me that the OYT boat has been unable to get to Kyle due to bad weather. It's in Plockton, but there's no way to get there tonight. I beat the jungle drums and Ewan Boron (of Stromeferry) rides to the rescue.

Meanwhile, I meet up with Olly, who I first met when I was hitching out of Greece in the 80s. We drink beer and eat crisps and talk about the things that old friends talk about. Weight. Mortgages. Family.

I take the train home and get off at Bond Street. I'm going to sleep well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.