Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Three in a tree

Jerry and I drove up to Conestee Nature Park along the Reedy River near Greenville today just to see what might be there.   We really liked what little bit we were able to walk before it got way too hot.  The paths are mostly paved or wooden boardwalks which is really nice and some areas were shady.   There were many dragonflies, some turtles, flowers and then there were herons.  

We walked to the end of one of the side boardwalks that went out in the marsh where we spotted a heron standing in the reeds.  I took some photos and then as we walked back around we heard the bird take off flying.  When we looked through the trees we could see it had flown up into a nest where there were other birds!  There seemed to be some flapping of wings and feather pulling going on.   I sure did wish I had taken my 300mm lens but I only had the 70-150mm with me.  So I set the center focus and snapped away.    These birds kept squawking for a few minutes.   When I took my eyes away from them I saw two more herons in another nest up above this one!   I have only ever seen herons along the edges of the water and never in nests!     

I had to really crop this to get this closeup photo.    I think Christmas might be in July this year as I already told Santa what I want.  

I am so glad we made a spur of the moment 2 hour trip.   I know I will be going back later when it cools off enough to walk all the miles of trails in this park.  The trees are mostly hardwoods so I know the fall colors would be really great!  And it won't be close to 90F in the shade!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.