Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Just because I like it

Today I have not taken a single photo!   The reason for this is because I had a 4 hour lunch and since I took 250 photos yesterday at the Nature Park I feel like I should share at least one more from that group.    This is just a vine hanging around but I liked it! 

The 4 hour lunch is a long story!  Back in 2014, I was doing an online photo class with Kim Manley Ort and as I looked through the other participants on the Flickr page I found there was a woman who lived near me. Small world!   Of course, I got in touch with her online and we talked about meeting up in person.  Very soon after that her husband began a long journey through the dreaded disease ALS.  She lost him in September of last year.   As I was looking at photographers I follow on Flickr, I saw that she had started to post again.   I commented on her photo of storm clouds and mentioned that it had not done any of the rain in Gilbert.   She immediately wrote back and we ended up planning an in person lunch date.   No photos were taken, just talking and getting to know each other.     She is an outdoors person like me so we are planning to do some walks as soon as the temperatures get below hot as H.....l and the humidity gets below steam!   

In another little thing that happened, when I walked into the coffeeshop/restaurant one of my high school friends that I see occasionally was sitting there talking to another woman.  I walked over to say hello and give a hug to her.   When I looked at the other woman, she was also a former classmate  whom I had not seen in 40 years!  Jean moved to a different area of the state and did not come to our high school reunions.  It was great seeing her again; we made some tentative plans for lunch in the near future!

A good day for people but not a good day for photos!


PS!  Because of the lack of zoom on the camera I used yesterday, Santa has ordered the new camera and it will be here on Friday!   So be prepared for close ups of faraway things!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.