Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Things are just rosy!

I found out that the roseate spoonbills were   at the Bear Island Wildlife area which is two and half hours away from my house.  Being determined to go see them as they are one bird I have never seen in the wild, the hubby said he would go with me today.   So we got up at 5am, packed some peanut butter sandwiches and lots of water, got the dog in the car with her pillows and blankets and headed out.  (We did stop for a big breakfast the the Waffle House..of course I had a waffle and bacon.  By the way, the coffee there this morning was the best I have had anywhere in a long time! )

So we got to the location about 9am..it was actually pretty nice weather-wise..just over 80 but bright sunshine.   As we pulled onto the little dirt road at the entrance I could see some birds on the pond on the right..egrets and other shore birds.  No spoonbills.    So we drove around to the observation deck which is about a half mile further..we got out and were attacked by MOSQUITOES!   There must have been thousands..we sprayed the bug spray on us but they would not leave us alone.   This area is shady and has moss growing all on the trees.  Swampy.    I could not even walk out to the boardwalk.   I was a little disappointed as I know that boardwalk has some good viewing spots for the ponds.

We drove on and went to Hog Pond area..a road out in the sunshine so I got out to see if we would be attacked..no mosquitos!   There were hundreds of dragonflies here..different than the one I posted yesterday. No birds though.  We drove on and checked a couple more areas but did not see any spoonbills anywhere. 

On our way back to the entrance, we came just past the ranger station at the pond and there it was!  One spoonbill standing in the shallows..he is in the extras.  Then I looked further and there were more!   I walked down this road as Jerry was keeping the dog in the car in the cool air.    More birds were across the pond but too far for my lens.    We turned around and went over on the other road that is behind the ranger station and there were two large groups of spoonbills..eating and swimming and standing in the shallows!  The main photo is part of one of the groups.

I took way too many photos and really hated that I forgot my tripod as these birds did not even care that I was there.  The sun was so bright too and I would really like to be at this location late in the day.   

Made the six hour round trip worth it for me!!    

As these spoonbills are lined up in a row, I think they will work for wide Wednesday!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.