Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Pollinator Week - Itsy bitsy spider

When most of us think of pollinators, we think of butterflies and bees.  But did you know that some spiders are also quite effective pollinators?  These very tiny Northern Crab Spiders ambush their prey, usually on flowers.  And while the females will tend to stake out a flower to call their own, males will often wander in search of a female, transferring pollen as they go.  This particular specimen is a baby so his/her mission is really to stay hidden as much as possible, while still searching for prey.  I've spotted quite a few teeny crab spiders hiding in the cone flowers, usually well hidden.  This one was being pretty bold by sitting out on a petal.

I decided that since it is going to be ridiculously easy to get seven days of pollinators, I would add an additional challenge for myself by trying to get seven different pollinators.  Let's see how well I do with this.  So far, a butterfly, a hover fly, and a wee spider.  

It was very hot today, almost 90 F, but I decided to take walk through a couple of the meadows at a nearby park in spite of the heat.  I was glad I went because in addition to seeing some nice dragonflies, I was able to watch a mixed flock of swallows hunting insects over the fields.  Swallows are just amazing to watch as they capture (and eat) their prey on the wing.  Ridiculously hard to photograph, so I ended up with a bunch of sub-standard shots.  Sometimes it's better just to enjoy the moment.  

The bluebirds fledged today.  I missed seeing them leave the box, but when I put meal worms out mid-morning, Madame was taking beaks full of squirmy wormies up into the cedars, so I believe that is where she had the kids stashed.  The small cedar grove in front of our house was a perfect straight shot from the nest box, less than 100 feet, and providing dense cover against predators.  I hope I'll get at least a glimpse of the youngsters.  

And speaking of youngsters, while I didn't see the house wren youngsters today, I could certainly hear them.  Apparently Mama is keeping them in the dense undergrowth at the edge of the woods - lots of chattering and excited chipping, and lots of rustling of leaves.  Meanwhile, Mister is selling hard on a box in front of the house for a second brood.  Quite the little go-getter.

Thanks so much for stopping by - and thank you for the love on yesterday's pollinator.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.