The well performing swale

I've worked from home today because of weather. I woke to heavy rain and it only got worse. I'm fine at home as are the roads I can see where I live. But beyond the development I live the country roads are flooded in many places.

The pope didn't let torrential rain hold him back but even he gave up. After a short chase around the house where he refused to let me towel him down he was easily persuaded with the promise of a small treat. Then he couldn't get enough of the towel ;-)

Around lunchtime the rain eased but the weather will be back overnight and we'll have another drenching. I took advantage of the break in the weather to pop out and bring my bins in, and blip the swale. As you can see it's performing well with surprisingly less water than you'd think 40mm of rain would produce.

It's darkening up again and I can feel the temperature is dropping. I expect the little pope to appear through the cat door at any time. He's made the most of things reducing the local bird population by one (I headed him off at the cat door), and checking out the neighbour's roof.

We'll hunker down until the storm passes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.