It's in my genes...

Dear Diary,

This is my mom on her senior class trip to Washington, DC in 1939.  I just love the saddle shoes!  They came back into style when I was in school; what goes around comes around I guess.  I have a few of the photographs she took on that trip.  They came from a camera that took two photos in one frame of film.  Tiny little images side by side.  A friend bought be one of those cameras for my birthday but I haven't used it yet.  I really need to do that this summer.

Her father was a really passionate photographer.  He use to let me use his box camera when I was little and I loved looking at the image upside down in it.  My dad was the most passionate photographer of all.  He recorded so much of our lives in Polaroid images, slides and some home movies.  Maybe I get my love of the medium from him, maybe from all of them.

I majored in photography and film making at university and I've loved it all my life.  I have been working on my scrap book and so much of my travels revolved around making images...not just "snap shots", I bought postcards for those, but really meaningful images.  I was always searching for the "icon of the experience", one image that, should all the rest be lost, would sum of my time in that place.

Today Rebecca, Olga and I will go off to Rockland to see the Wyeth exhibit at the Farnsworth Museum and then on to the Olson House which Wyeth made famous in his paintings.  I wonder what my "icon" of today will be?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.