Dean Clough Mill

I went to Halifax today and for a  walk round Dean Clough Mills as I wanted to get a blip of our "dark satanic mills";   I didn't get the sort of shot I had in mind, but then I rarely do.  Nevertheless it was a beautiful day and I enjoyed visiting this former Carpet mill.  I've seen in the local paper that the Piece Hall renovations are finally complete and that it will re-open during August. 

On my way home I passed the site of the new library, It will be a contemporary building that will blend  the styles of the historic Piece Hall, Square Chapel and the former Industrial Museum buildings.   The finished building will envelop the Grade II* Listed Square Church Spire  and it will also incorporate the remains of the church  including the rose window into the design of the building. It promises to be a wonderful place,  and I shall look forward to it's completion;  in the days of cuts and so many library closures it's like a breath of fresh air.

Thank you  for your generous comments, stars and hearts for yesterday's Bluetit, it's very much appreciated. :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.