Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Signs

Blipped on 22/7/17
I have nearly caught up with my blipping!!

So thrilled today to wake up to a notification that not only have the client for the Cyprus flat settled up right away, they've even given us a bonus! This seemed to make the whole morning more relaxed, until I decided it was time to tackle the faulty touchpad on the new Dell. I did a Google search to see if I could locate an authorised Dell service centre, but no joy. I ended up calling a premium number and all my credit got eaten up in ten minutes; so I tried an 0800 on another site.

Well, I ended up on the longest customer service call ever - Over 90 minutes by the time I finished and I got passed between I-don't-know-how-many Dell offices around the world. What a shambles they are in after sales service. So disappointed, especially as after all that time, I am still nowhere near having the problem solved.  They are so hung up on warranty, it doesn't even matter if you are willing to pay for repair and parts yourself. I think I have bought the last Dell computer I will ever own.

And if that wasn't enough, I was then on the phone for almost 40 minutes with Lloyds Bank. I coudn't access internet banking. Grrrrr.... the folks there are a thousand times better. I think any company offering customer service through a call centre could take a page out of their book, so much so, that as it had taken so long to solve the problem, they are going to credit me with £30! Unheard of.

It was time to get out and get some fresh air, so we chose to visit Pizza Express in Cranleigh. We approached it from a completely different direction and came upon this fantastic sign. *Someone* has a sense of humour. G stopped the car, and I jumped out to get some pictures, but we were at a crossroads, so had to be really quick. By amazing coincident, the lady who designed the sign in the background (Blackheath Silver Jubilee) came towards me to cross the road. She wanted to know which direction I was going in. "That way" I said - which was true - Cranleigh was up that road... S he went "Somewhere".

Got to Cranleigh, and it must be test Sherry's patience day. I had offloaded all my change at the post office, and then was looking at a parking metre and was totally challenged by it. Ringo didn't work on the app, the charge was way more paying by card, and the machines (which are new) were a mystery even to the locals. A kind passerby gave G their ticket with 30 minutes left on it.

Got to Pizza Express and of course - being the Friday that a lot of schools have broken up, it was noisy and full of er kids! Not the place I needed to be at after the morning I had. We left, thinking maybe we would go to Guildford, but came back home instead. G is mad at me because I haven't handled the frustrations challenges of the day well at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.