A time for everything

By turnx3

Flowers by the bike trail

Saturday
The hot, extremely muggy weather continues, so we got out for our exercise straight after breakfast - which I must admit wasn't that early! At least biking on the Little Miami trail, there's a good amount of shade, and while you're cycling, you have the movement of air helping to cool you down. We headed further north today, starting at Corwen. This stretch is less well- travelled than the more southerly stretch, especially that just north of Loveland, which attracts a lot of families with unpredictable young children! You tend to see the more serious, long-distance biker along here, and we were able to stop and lend a hand to one of these today. He was on a borrowed all-titanium bike, and since his own air pump didn't fit, he had risked going without - and had got a flat. So we stopped and Roger lent him our pump and gave him a hand. While they worked, he explained he was in training for a charity ride, the Pelatonia,  in a couple of weeks, in aid of cancer research. The ride has different distances from 25 to over 100 miles and he'll be doing 100 miles. Today, he had done about 60, and had another 20 to go!  As for myself, I was quite happy with my 18 miles return! When I saw this beautiful bank of flowers, I'd hoped maybe I'd be lucky enough to capture a bee or a butterfly on them, but no such luck! However, I think they still make for a nice picture!One year ago: Canal du Nivernais Part 2

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.