Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Hamilton's Cemetery, Waipiata

I've been on my own in the Maniototo now that my travelling companions braved the weather to make it back to the 03.

After getting provisions in Ranfurly, I made my way through to Naseby, hoping to be able to bash my way through to the pub at Dansey's Pass. Unfortunately the road was closed so I decamped to the Ancient Briton for a light refreshment, courtesy of the good people of Emerson's brewery.

Naseby is such a cute little place so I've added some extras of a couple of the old buildings there.

Before the rest of the crew headed off, we went for a jaunt up the Ida Valley in the snow. Check the extras for some shots in the white stuff.

My main photo is from my last stop of the day up at the Hamilton's Cemetery, high on the hills above the basin on the outskirts of Waipiata. Hamiltons the town is now a ghost town - it's buildings long since vanished into the schist landscape, the only thing standing, ironically, a place for its deceased. Find out more about it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.