Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Goodbye for now, craggy friend.

I love my adopted country dearly, and there are a few special places here which really touch my soul. The Maniototo is one of them.

There's something about the place that just clicks with me. Its landscape is vast, but yet contained, somewhat brutal in the winter but yet full of fascinating details and rich history. The place is one for hardy souls who don't mind their own company. It's not flash, nor showy. Just raw and honest.

I've said my goodbyes today and headed home to the bush. My journey was somewhat convoluted, going the long way through the Lindis Pass. But what a drive it was. I actually used the vehicle mount for my Go Pro on the bonnet, taking a photo every ten seconds, because I just didn't want to miss out on the splendour of the heartland of this island. I'll finally edit them and get them up on my Facebook page if you're interested.

In the extras you'll see the view from the summit of the Lindis Pass, plus early morning stars over our accommodation in Wedderburn and its woolshed at Sunrise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.