Learning to Fly

Today was my first chance to get out with the flying camera that arrived on Friday. I've blipped the 1930's aerodrome at Little Haldon before but of course it's an ideal place to do a bit of flying, a few trees but nothing very big. There are no power lines and not many people, just a few dog walkers. A model aircraft club uses the runway and the oranisational body has it mowed occasionally, not that it seems to be used very often.

Anyhow, I got myself organised, did my preflight checks and then it started to rain. Drones don't like the rain at all so I quickly packed it away and headed for home, cursing quietly to myself.

After lunch it looked good out there so I went back to try again. This time it was much more satisfactory and it was great to see it up there obeying my instructions and if I was a bit slow to work out what I was doing, it just hovered there patiently while I sorted myself out. I had a good little fly around and took some pictures and some video. 

Why haven't I posted an aerial blip then? To be honest, the reason I chose it was because it was so open and featureless and the downside of that is that it's not going to make for a great aerial photo even with the heather in bloom. I have put an an aerial shot in as an extra if you'd like to see it but I think I'll wait until I get something a bit more interesting before I use one as my main blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.