Return to Venford Falls

I met my photobuddy John at Venford Reservoir this morning, we had plans to go to the secret falls on Venford Brook. "Do you know where they are?" he asked. "No trouble," I said. We set off down the path and turned right and headed towards the bank. The bracken was very high and it was difficult to make progress but we eventually got down to river level where we found there were no falls. We looked up river, we wandered down river but there were no falls there apart from some small ones which were quite pretty. We climbed up the bank and headed back to the car park. 

It was time for lunch so we went off to the Forest Inn and had some food, a drink and a good natter. We were also able to research where we should have been. It's over a year since Michael took me to the falls and I obviously hadn't retained the information I needed. Rather than going on somewhere else we decided to go back and find those darned falls. We walked on down the path, it's further down the river than I remembered. We got to where the trees get a bit closer together and turned down the bank, down along, further down, further along and there they were exactly where they'd always been surprisingly enough. I'm very pleased we went back, I prefer not to have that 'unfinished feeling'.

My blip's taken a little further back than my previous blip last year and of course there's less water coming down after this dry spell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.