If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Flying Scotsman.

Today the Flying Scotsman was pulling the Waverley which was running from York to Carlisle via the Settle to Carlisle line.  Clickychick had a shot in mind she particularly wanted, so Kanyl and I headed out to a bridge near Appleby.

After we set off I wasn't sure if the times CC had given me were for arrival at Appleby or departure.  Steam locos on this line usually take on water at the station).    We arrived in plenty of time either way.  as time went on I began to get worried, last time we were there for a blip of a steam loco there were at least 8 to 10 of us.  Today - 2!

Eventually it arrive, running a little late and going "full steam ahead".  I suspect the high speed had something to do with the serious lack of steam/smoke.  Not a brilliant shot but having made the effort I felt I should use it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.