Slow day .....

We did have consumed an unusual amount of alcohol last night - thus we had a long lie. It was raining badly in the morning, so we did not really miss too much. 
We had a very slow start and only after 3 pm we were showered, dressed and had breakfast.
We walked to the Sunday flea market but did not buy anything. We still felt tired and a bit worn out.
I suggested to go to Mehringdamm, sit at Melitta Sundström with a coffee and watch the world go by.
This is a bar that attracts my attention since a while. It is run down, a relict from the 80ies/90ies but somehow really cool.
I have blipped it before (here). The coffee was not to great but we sat quite a while watching the people. Jim passed by with his sons and we had a chat. He is Scottish and lives in Berlin for a long time. A lovely guy and extremely  interesting person. I really need to blip him soon.
Mellitta Sundström is kind of an institution of the Berlin gay scene since forever. I do not think it has ever been renovated and it kinda has still the feel of the past times. When I went to the toilet upstairs (one for all!) I also had a glimpse of the so-called "Belle Etage" where sometimes music events happen. A quite cool place - it sets me back to my "wild" years. The toilets would probably put off most people ;) although they are not that dirty - but they are certainly unusual in our times now.
The blip may give an idea.
After the coffee there we climbed the Kreuzberg in Viktoria Park. The only "hill" in Berlin. It was still nice and sunny and a lot of people were in the park.
On the way back via Kreuzbergstrasse we found the Lidl and Aldi our friends Les and Barbara went to when they stayed in our flat in May. We had no clue that they were so close.
Since we were still tired we stopped for another coffee on the way.
Now we are home and I have edited my photos already.
I start really liking my new Macbook! It is damn fast and editing is quick and fun. That makes things much easier.

I am posting same day for a change and it must be the Melitta Sundström toilets.
The extra is the staircase leading to the first floor.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.