Crab Fishing

I could have chosen another few dozen photos today!! I thought I'd better stick to one. With a few more in extras!!
We had another lovely day. A couple of hours in the sun when we got up - eating breakfast, drinking tea and playing Mastermind. Miss E introduced Miss R to the delights of Mastermind and she was hooked too!
Then it was over to Walberswick for more crab fishing. I had wondered how Archie would be in the rowing boat ferry but he was fine. As usual he got loads of fussing from everyone nearby and spent the crossing wagging his tail and trying to clamber all over everyone in the boat.
And neither he nor the Little Misses fell in the estuary as they got out of the boat, woohoo!!
The crabs are much more considerate on the Walberswick side. We couldn't pull up the line without having one or two crabs attached to the net bag full of fetid bacon!! But the sneaky things fell off almost every time before we could get them out and into the bucket! 
So I relented and let Miss E run to the nearby grockle hut to buy a fishing net. I had been very sniffy about other people using them, saying to the Little Misses that they were already spoilt with net bags full of bacon. Net bags! Bacon! When I was little we had to make do with a dry crust of bread on a hook........
Kids today!!!!!
But even I was getting frustrated with the crabs dropping off as soon as they got anywhere near the bucket and the net made it soooooooooo much easier.
Once our bucket was full and the family from hell arrived and started screaming, taking selfies, charging around like nutters, crowding into our personal space and generally ruining things we headed up through beautiful Walberswick to have lunch. Lots of things with chips for my family and a healthy baked potato for me. Still being good!!
Then it was to the cashpoint for some money for our impulse purchase of a six metre windsock/twirly flag from the hut with the fishing nets (see extras) It's ace and will make me incredibly happy every time I see it for years to come. 
Unfortunately the support pole we got is too short and shortly after I took the photo it blew over and nearly flattened nearby tents!!
I can't remember why now but things got a bit fraught and I ended up hiding in the car reading my book. It had started raining so it was quite nice sat in there watching the rain fall!
Once it had stopped - and the Little Misses were acting like civilised human beings again - there was some frisby action before bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.