Elizabeth's Smart Move To Tilty Mill

I must admit I was scandalised by the behaviour of yesterday's poet, Elizabeth Smart and her lover, so I found the point of view of her son, in a link kindly posted in a comment by ceridwen, very interesting. I read that she and her children lived at Tilty Mill in Essex. I've never heard of the village of Tilty. 

I tried to go togging down our field but the long grass was soaking wet and I got drenched in no time. I did some research and went looking for Tilty Mill. The single tracks in the Essex countryside got narrower and narrower. I decided not to chance a minute one and reversed back up a hill. I met a black cab on the way down. The driver was friendly and lives in an Elizabethan cottage at the top of the hill. I told him about my quest. We looked together at the pics of Tilty Mill on his tablet. He had never seen or heard of it. We established that the river was on the right of the road. I hadn't driven far when I found a gravel track. I negotiated it very gingerly and there the mill was, completely hidden from the road! Taxi man might have the knowledge of London but not of his own patch. :)

What an idyllic place to bring up children. Woods, open fields, the river, lots of ramshackle sheds and a bonus abbey ruin. (Extras) While Elizabeth worked in London in the week her children were looked after by The Two Roberts, who were hard drinkers. http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/articles/2hscrfQSYK2BrFvHXbNhW5b/the-two-roberts-love-paint-and-poverty 

I really enjoyed my afternoon. I love entering and exploring derelict, deserted buildings with signs warning of danger. Unfortunately the mill itself was securely boarded up. :(

Today's poem is One Hard Look by Robert Graves. https://www.stihi.ru/2001/06/12-323

Little things mean a lot.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.