An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Worlds Collide...

Such a pleasure to wake up to sunshine.

The estimator from the decorating company popped in this morning to go over all the rooms that need decorating.  Apart from the new extension, our living room and one bedroom, they all do, including both hallways.  And some outside work.  Unfortunately the decorator has contracts with all the local private schools so is completely tied up with that as the work has to be done during the school holidays, so it will be September before they can start our work.  Oh well.

David and I went out to buy a birthday present for Norma and as it was  lovely out, we ended up in Delivinos for lunch.   

In the afternoon with Alan off out to Blair Drummond with Kirsten and David off to get the car washed in Crieff, I settled in the sunshine in the garden room for a bit of a nostalgia fest.  

You may remember I mentioned we'd had our wedding video and old family cine films converted to dvd, so with eager anticipation, I uploaded the cine film dvd first and watched with increasing pleasure, the images of my uncle Jim and Aunt Mary (really my great aunt and uncle as my uncle Jim was my gran's brother) on holiday in Banff with their friends Meg & Jim circa 1964.  As their smiling faced beamed out of the screen at me, I found myself smiling back as THIS song played in the background of the dvd. 

As the dvd continued, all my family members appeared (myself included from age four months to four years) and it was so lovely to see them laughing and animated, just as I remember them.  So alive but unreachable. It wasn't long before the tears were running past my smile and dripping off my chin. 

When that nostalgia-fest was over, I put our wedding video on.  Good grief!  Were we ever really that young (we were 22 when we got married) and did David really have that much hair?!   Again the tears came as I saw the same family members from the previous dvd, a little older now,  beside loved ones from David's side of the family.   

Hearing the Minister wishing us a long and happy life together and the strength to cope with whatever life would bring, had me bubbling again as I looked at our young innocent faces and my mind wandered back over the last 28 years (28 years on 3rd August :-) and all the times we've faced situations that could easily have torn us apart but thankfully brought us closer together.   
Our wedding video ends with a very lively Gay Gordons and seeing the packed dance floor with everyone enjoying themselves is so wonderful.  

The final moments show the end of the dance and everyone hugging their dance partners and as they leave the floor, someone puts their hand up,  spins the mirror ball suspended from the ceiling and the camera zooms in on it then fades to black.  

Looking up at the mirror ball in the garden room, I couldn't help but feel we've come full circle and it feels good.

My plan is to take still photos from the dvds with the big camera and clean them up as best I can in PSE.  In the meantime I have included in extras a couple of shots of my mum and me snapped on my iPhone - the second one included my mum's sister.  

I have hardly any photos of my mum and I together as she was always the one behind the camera.  I am delighted that I am going to be able to create photos of us from the film.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.