Friends Old And New, Day 1

Today Dolly and I went off on the first of our summer camping adventures. We headed to Cirencester and got settled into a campsite there. Then we drove on to the little town of Painswick in the Cotswolds where we met my childhood friend (and almost cousin!) Rebecca, who was here on business and had some free time this afternoon.

Getting to Painswick in the most hilly part of the Cotswolds was a bit of a challenge and I learned an important lesson - have a heathy scepticism of the route that a Sat Nav/GPS wants to take you on! Those steep narrow country roads (2-way roads but only wide enough for ONE vehicle!) are bad enough in a car, but you really don't want to try them out in a van! And I don't need to shave a minute or more off the route on the main roads! Thankfully we found a place to park in the very tight space of the hotel, but I was missing my tiny little car today!

We had an enjoyable visit with Rebecca, whom I've not seen in a few years. I think she was glad to finally meet Dolly. We explored the pretty town of Painswick and had a little light refreshment before our visit was cut way too short. Painswick is definitely a place to visit again, but I will definitely stick to the main road and the main public car park!

Back at the campsite we enjoyed a relaxing rest of the evening and Dolly made several new friends during our evening walk. She always attracts lots of attention from dogs and owners alike!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.