Lily

I don't remember the last time I was at home when my lily flowered. We usually go away as soon as the schools break up, but this year it is only just into the holidays and she is flowering, and spectacularly! For the first time, two stems as strong and full of buds as each other. The soil here has something special in it because this is in the same place as my giant hosts, and that always grows beautifully too.

Met Polly and Richard in Jarrolds today, for a light lunch in Benji's. Nice to catch up, but especially nice because Polly game me a handbag she no longer uses, which is absolutely perfect for my holiday. So I'm very happy. I'd been looking for a bag, but hadn't seen anything quite right at an affordable price, so lucky me. I won't see them again until they return from their wedding cruise in August. we chatted about the preparations. I like hearing about holiday plans, even if mine aren't as exciting. Will look forwards to photos in September!

My head has been horrible today. I dropped in to Boots to ask for advice on painkillers (nothing works) the pharmacist is sure it's tension headaches. Everything I read says do too. I got migraine tablets which are ibuprofen. The afternoon passed quickly, but the bus home was anything but. A 'police incident's meant the bus was diverted along with the rest of the world, down a narrow side street. it took twice as long to get to my car than normal, so I got home at 6.30, having left work at 5. And that is just one of a zillion reasons why I have tension. Yes I need to try and relax, but no I can't do less, I just do normal regular things, but have less time at home to do them, than people who don't work full time, an hour from their place of work (or an hour and a half today) so it's just the life I lead. It means headaches are an accessory I can't be without, I think.

Jon cooked tea, then went to collect Mollie and her bike. I walked to allotment to collect the egg and chat to the hens. Bracken came with me. I sat and waited for the owl but he didn't come. Wandered back. The nights are drawing in...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.