Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Mayfield

It's been another good and busy day. G suggested visiting IKEA as there were a couple of things we wanted to get from there, so off we went... good journey up managing to avoid the M25 completely.

It is very interesting to go to IKEA's in different countries. They carry different stock, and one thing in particular I saw in Cyprus and wanted for here was nowhere to be seen. They had other cool stuff though.

As we were so close, I said we should check out Mayfield Lavender Farm. We had driven past it on our way to IKEA. I think it was good to go later as there wasn't a long queue of cars trying to get in; but even at 5pm, the sun was way too bright and harsh, so we shared a cream tea and browsed the "shop" to kill some time.

There are a lot of wasps at MLF; so much so, it was nearly impossible to eat the scone with jam. Fortunately there were no mishaps but the wasps were quite aggressive. I've never been to a lavender farm that is just a tourist destination. So many people were dressed elaborately to have photo shoots. We just walked up and down the aisles, and I am pleased we got past the half way point as it was much quieter, and it was possible to get pictures of the plants without people.

Good journey back via Epsom Downs and I should have tackled some ironing but there was too much else to do, not least to go through lots of lavender pictures to pick one for my blip! :) Think I'll skip the extra for today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.